New distinguished professors honored at fall reception

Alan M. Jones, W.R. Kenan Distinguished Professor in Biology, with Dean Karen Gil. (photo by Beth Lawrence)
Alan M. Jones, W.R. Kenan Distinguished Professor in Biology, with Dean Karen Gil. (photo by Beth Lawrence)

The College of Arts and Sciences recognized six new distinguished professors at a reception Nov. 19 in Hyde Hall.

“We are fortunate to have such exceptional scholars and teachers on our faculty,” said Dean Karen Gil, who presented certificates to the honorees.

Gil thanked the new professors for inspiring colleagues and students in many ways, including:

  • Discovering new ideas and approaches, and seeking solutions to the world’s big problems.
  • Training and mentoring graduate students — the next generation of outstanding scholars and teachers.
  • Igniting the intellectual curiosity of undergraduate students, and encouraging them to be lifelong learners.
  • Helping all students gain the knowledge, skills and experience needed to be leaders in a fast-changing, global society.

The new distinguished professors include:

James H. Anderson, W.R. Kenan Distinguished Professor, Computer Science: Professor Anderson is ranked among the top three researchers in the world in the area of real-time and embedded computer systems. He is a Fellow of IEEE, the internationally distinguished professional organization in electronic engineering.

Louise A. Dolan, W.R. Kenan Distinguished Professor, Physics: Professor Dolan, one of the foremost experts worldwide on string theory and elementary particle physics, is advancing our understanding of the universe. She is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and a recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship.

Annegret Fauser, Cary Boshamer Distinguished Professor, Music: Professor Fauser’s research focuses on music in the United States during the 1930s and ’40s, and French music of the 19th and early 20th centuries. She has won the Dent Medal, one of the highest international  honors in musicology.

Daniel P. Gitterman, Thomas Willis Lambeth Distinguished Professor, Public Policy: Professor Gitterman is an expert on the American welfare state and the politics of social policy. He is an award-wining teacher and a recipient of the Order of the Long Leaf Pine, one of North Carolina’s highest honors.

Alan M. Jones, W.R. Kenan Distinguished Professor, Biology: Professor Jones, a member of the faculty since 1986, is an internationally recognized leader in the field of cell biology. He was named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science this year.

Matthew R. Redinbo, W.R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor, Chemistry: Professor Redinbo is a former department chair whose research has led to groundbreaking advances in knowledge and treatment of cancer, drug addiction, and anti-biotic resistant infections.